Coca-Cola Bottles With a Yellow Cap Return in 2022
But Only For a Limited Time…

It is that time of year again.

You might be wandering through the soft drink aisle in a supermarket or grocery store and noticed that bottles of Coca-Cola suddenly have bright yellow caps on them instead of the more familiar red caps — and you might have asked yourself why those yellow caps are on them.

Bottles of Coca-Cola topped with a yellow cap indicate that the soft drink is Kosher for Passover, which begins at sundown on the evening of Friday, April 15, 2022 and lasts for eight days in most places around the world; but only for seven days in Israel.

Corn is one of the foods known as kitniyot, which is in the group of foods considered not Kosher for Passover whose texture is similar to wheat, barley, oat, spelt or rye flour — all of which are forbidden for consumption during Passover because they are considered chametz. When they come in contact with water, leavening — the act of fermentation and rising with food products such as many breads and cakes — can occur.

Because corn is one of those products forbidden to be eaten during Passover, Coca-Cola and other soft drinks cannot be definitively verified as Kosher for Passover by a Mashgiach, who supervises the process of ensuring that an establishment follows the laws of Kashrut, which determines the dietary laws in Judaism and from where the word Kosher comes…


DONATE

NO ADVERTISING ON DAWGS BLOG- PAID FOR BY DONATIONS

$10.00